Killing Kate by Alex Lake

screen-shot-2017-01-04-at-6-53-04-pm

Kate has just broken up with her high school boyfriend after a 10 year relationship, and all she wants is to have fun, and figure out what she’s like as a single woman. Unfortunately, recent murders in her hometown have her on edge. When she realizes that all of the murdered women look eerily similar to her, she begins to worry.

She especially starts to panic when she can’t shake the feeling that she’s being watched and followed. When he ex-boyfriend gets dragged into the investigation, she wonders if the murder is much closer to home than she ever realized. Will she be the next victim? Will her past come back to haunt her?

I really enjoyed Killing Kate, as it was a thriller, but also had some aspects that reminded me of chick lit – a lot of focus on her friendships, relationships, and personal growth, so I loved that mix. The book builds slowly, starting with weird events happening around Kate with some flashbacks to Kate’s past mixed in. The last quarter of the book is where things really picked up, and I read all of that part through to the end because I wanted to know how it would end!

I definitely pegged the killer and motives from very early on, so the twists didn’t come as a shock to me, but I enjoyed the book none the less. It was easy to read, and when I was reading it, I always got sucked into the book and engrossed in the story.

All in all, this was a 4 star read for me, and it won’t be the last thing I read by Alex Lake!

 

2 thoughts on “Killing Kate by Alex Lake

  1. I was never that interested in this one, I think it sounded a little too women’s fiction-y for my tastes, but I just received Lake’s newest novel and I’m really looking forward to it! I’m glad to hear you liked this one! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

