The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter

33230889

28 years ago, Charlie’s life was torn apart. Some bad men were angry at her father, and took it out on his family instead. Charlie, her sister Samantha, and their mother were attacked in their house, and their mother was murdered. Now, almost three decades later, Charlie is still living in the same town, working as a lawyer, and trying to save her failing marriage. In a moment of weakness, Charlie has a one night stand, which sets up a series of events that lead Charlie to the local school where an active shooter is on campus.

Charlie has to navigate the most recent tragedy, but also has to deal with the resurfacing emotions and memories of the events that took place all those years ago. As secrets come to light, Charlie has to fact her past in order to move forward.

I became an instant fan of Slaughter’s after reading her book Pretty Girls last year, and while I haven’t read the rest of the books she’s written (soon, I swear!) I couldn’t wait to get my hands on The Good Daughter! Before I read this one, I did read the prequel novella, called Last Breath, which I loved.

The Good Daughter felt quite different than Pretty Girls did, in my opinion. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but I’ve come to know Slaughter as an author who writes very graphic, fast paced thriller, and while there were some graphic points in this book, they weren’t as bad as the ones in Pretty Girls. While overall, I did enjoy the story, and particularly loved Charlie as our main character, I found some of the middle portions of the book dragging a little bit. This book is over 500 pages, and I felt like it could have been shortened while maintaining the key elements.

One of the things I did really like were the flashbacks to Charlie’s past, where we are able to put the pieces of the puzzle together to fully understand what happened that night 28 years ago. There were little hidden nuggets in each flashback, and I loved that!

Another thing I loved about the book were the twists that happened! I had some ideas and some theories, but I wasn’t even close to figuring everything out, and I always love when that happens. I felt like there were almost two parts to the story – the past and the present, and each one had their own twists, which I thought was really cool.

Overall, Pretty Girls remains my favorite Slaughter book, but I definitely loved this one and recommend it to fans of psychological thrillers! I will give a quick trigger warning since I know this can be a big one for people, but the book does contain the rape of a young girl. It has it’s own scene (more than a passing mention) and is a little graphic, more around the aftermath, but is not a large part of the story (just a few pages, and then some mentions of it), so if that’s something you can’t stomach, then beware before you start reading! I’ve moved the rest of Slaughter’s books closer to the top of my TBR list, so I’m hoping to get to those soon! Overall, I rated this one 4/5 stars, specifically because I felt like the pacing in the middle was a little slow.

**Have you read this one yet? What did you think?**

2 thoughts on “The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter

Leave a Reply

